EU countries sign the Agreement for the Termination of Bilateral Investment Treaties

An Agreement for the Termination of intra-EU bilateral investment treaties has been signed by 23 EU member states. It will come into force 30 days after second acceptance or ratification is submitted to the Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

The agreement implements the Judgement of the European Court of Justice from March 2018 (Achmea case), where the court found that investor-state arbitration clauses in intra-EU bilateral investment treaties are incompatible with EU Treaties.