Switzerland was excluded from attending Berec’s meetings

Switzerland is no longer allowed to cooperate in Berec committees. According to Neue Zürcher Zeitung, the official reason for the exclusion is an amendment of Berec’s regulations in December. According to it, observer status for third countries that are not members of the EU is abolished. Neither the Swiss Federal Communications Commission (Comcom) nor the Federal Office of Communications (Bakom) and its experts will be allowed to attend the Berec meetings in the future. The new Berec regulation stipulates that third countries may only cooperate if they have concluded an agreement with the EU in this area. This is the case, for example, with the EEA countries Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein, as well as with accession countries such as Turkey, Montenegro and Serbia.​​