Peru, Colombia, Bolivia and Ecuador denounce the .amazon decision

Governments of Peru, Colombia, Bolivia and Ecuador have criticised the decision of the ICANN Board to approve the .Amazon domain name to Amazon Inc. The Presidents of the four countries, Peru’s Martin Vizcarra, Colombia’s Ivan Duque, Ecuador’s Lenin Moreno and Bolivia’s Evo Morales have vowed to join forces for protecting their countries from what they describe as inadequate governance of the internet. It may be mentioned that countries from the Amazon Basin have been arguing that Amazon refers to their geographic region and should not be the monopoly of one company.